My first stones

Discussion in 'Sharpening Station' started by Beanwagon, May 17, 2019.

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums by donating:

1. May 17, 2019 #1

Beanwagon

Beanwagon

Beanwagon

20190517_155840.jpg 20190517_155835.jpg 20190517_155827.jpg I just got back from a trip to japan whilst at cutlery tsubaya i made a last minute/rushed decision to by my first stones.

I am very new to knife sharpening so i understand its not too crucial what i use to learn at this stage.

Does anyone have experience/advice or criticisms of these?

Do i have to soak before use? Etc

NANIWA - Kagayaki Professional Series #1000 & #3000

Shapton ceramic #120

I mainly bought the #120 to finish/set bevel on knives i make myself.

2. May 17, 2019 #2

Ivan Hersh

Ivan Hersh

Ivan Hersh

These videos might help you.

Last edited: May 17, 2019
  3. May 17, 2019 #3

Beanwagon

Beanwagon

Beanwagon

Awesome cheers.

I also plan on getting a stone or two if necessary to bridge the gap between the #120 & #1000.

4. May 17, 2019 #4

Ivan Hersh

Ivan Hersh

Ivan Hersh

I have this stone and feel it would bridge the gap well.
    Naniwa Chosera 800 Grit Stone - with Base

5. May 17, 2019 #5

Beanwagon

Beanwagon

Beanwagon

6. May 17, 2019 #6

Ivan Hersh

Ivan Hersh

Ivan Hersh

7. May 17, 2019 #7

Beanwagon

Beanwagon

Beanwagon

8. May 17, 2019 #8

Ivan Hersh

Ivan Hersh

Ivan Hersh

What i quickly learned was i really did not need many of the stones i bought, i could have gotten along with just the 800 and my 2000.
    Now you are working with work that needs stones i don't need right now, but having the stones on hand is nice if one can afford them.

9. May 17, 2019 #9

Bert2368

Bert2368

Bert2368

Hellish frozen Northern wasteland, aka MN
    I am an infidel, profaning this temple to Japanese perfection with my uncouth practices. Also a cheap bastard.