Nagura Question

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ptanks15

Reaction score
I'm new to whetstone sharpening and am about to make my first stone purchase. I plan to buy Chosera 800, 3k and an Atoma 140.

My question is, do I need to buy a separate nagura to use with my Choseras? I know they come with one but have read they are not that great for raising a slurry, as they are better suited for cleaning. Do I need separate grit naguras or will one high grit nagura work fine? A few recommendations would be helpful.

Thanks in advance.

I have the NP 800 and 3000 and the Atoma 140 plate. The only drawback to not using a nagura after flattening with the atoma is it leaves the surface of the 800 and 3000 pretty scratchy (the scratches are visible and the stone feels a little rougher in use for the first few passes). I have the Naniwa 800 and 3000 nagura as well and mostly use them to smooth out the surface after flattening. I'll also use the 3000 to build a slurry when using that stone for polishing. I'd say, the Naniwa nagura are pretty cheap, especially if you throw them in the cart with the stones when you already have free shipping.

In the end, not necessary, but nice to have to keep the stones smooth after flattening and to refresh the surface as needed.