New petty and gyutos

Discussion in 'The Kitchen Knife' started by IsoJ, Aug 10, 2019.

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums by donating:

1. Aug 10, 2019 #1

IsoJ

IsoJ

IsoJ

Supporting Member

I’m a home cook and got bite from the japanese knives after I got to try one at my friend place . Now that my work changed, I have more time in home, I decided to replace most of my western knives.

Finland

KNIFE TYPE
    What type of knife are you interested in (e.g., chef’s knife, slicer, boning knife, utility knife, bread knife, paring knife, cleaver)?

Gyuto 2 pcs. and Petty

Are you right or left handed?

Right

Are you interested in a Western handle (e.g., classic Wusthof handle) or Japanese handle?

Japanese handle

What length of knife (blade) are you interested in (in inches or millimeters)?

2 gyutos about 240mm

Petty or similar knife blade around 150-180mm, prefer with some height, so my wife can use it with board too.

Do you require a stainless knife? (Yes or no)

Petty stainless or semi stainless

One gyuto stainless or semi and one carbon steel(my first carbon knife, sharpening practise, would be nice if it comes real sharp out of the box so I have some goal to reach when learning the sharpening.

What is your absolute maximum budget for your knife?

No absolute budget lets say everything under 500€....

Petty around 200€
    Gyuto 200-300€/pcs

KNIFE USE
    Do you primarily intend to use this knife at home or a professional environment?

Home

What are the main tasks you primarily intend to use the knife for (e.g., slicing vegetables, chopping vegetables, mincing vegetables, slicing meats, cutting down poultry, breaking poultry bones, filleting fish, trimming meats, etc.)? (Please identify as many tasks as you would like.)

Everything else but breaking bones for now.

What knife, if any, are you replacing?

Not replacing, starting over.

Do you have a particular grip that you primarily use? (Please click on this LINK for the common types of grips.)