New to Japanese knives here, been lurking for a little bit

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kozzman555

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I've been looking at replacing my Mercer chef's knife that I've been using for about 4 years. I've just recently had to thin the knife after fixing several chips from my fiance abusing it over the years. COUNTERTOPS ARE NOT CUTTING BOARDS BABE. I've been upgrading my kitchen knife collection piece by piece as I improve my cooking and sharpening skills. Why practice sharpening on nice knives when I can get that out of the way with cheap ones, amirite?

I feel like it's time to upgrade my chef's knife so I've been doing some digging in this forum, looking at the various "best gyuto under $300" type threads that have popped up over the years. I think I've settled on the Yoshikane SKD 210 mm Gyuto with the Nashiji finish (just find that finish more aesthetically pleasing than a tsuchime finish). I don't think I need a 240mm with the food prep that I do. I also find the fact that it uses A2 tool steel for the cutting edge to be comforting, as I have an LT Wright Gen 5 that is A2 and I love that steel. If anyone reads this and has used one, let me know how it does with horizontal cuts on onions. That Mercer is straight dog doo doo with it, just wants to wedge in there. Very frustrating, but that's probably my fault, may need to thin it some more and then redo my cutting edge bevel.

My current stock of whetstones is a Surehiro Cerax 320 grit, Naniwa Pro 800, and Rika 5000 as well as a leather strop with green polishing compound. I am planning on getting an Atoma 140 diamond plate for fixing/thinning my knives, a SG500, and maybe SG4000 as well. I want to slide towards splash and goes as I loathe having to wait to soak the stones before using them. I just find it annoying.