Nihei SLD Gyuto

Discussion in 'The Kitchen Knife' started by Cksnffr, Mar 26, 2020.

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums by donating:

1. Mar 26, 2020 #1

Cksnffr

Cksnffr

Cksnffr

Anyone get their hands on one of these? They seem like extra-refined Yoshikane.

2. Mar 26, 2020 #2

AT5760

AT5760

AT5760

Yeah. I picked up a 240 last year.

Cksnffr likes this.
  3. Mar 26, 2020 #3

Cksnffr

Cksnffr

Cksnffr

How do you like it? What would you compare it with?

4. Mar 26, 2020 #4

Malcolm Johnson

Malcolm Johnson

Malcolm Johnson

I am definitely curious about this as well. I’m thinking it might be my next knife

5. Mar 26, 2020 #5

JayS20

JayS20

JayS20

Also curious about Nihei knives. They do look good and he comes from Yoshikane which I have great regards for.

6. Mar 26, 2020 #6

AT5760

AT5760

AT5760

Here's my attempt at a "review" of this knife. The air quotes are definitely necessary. If you're expecting stringer-level quality, you're in the wrong place. I'm a home cook and only own a few knives. So my perspective is definitely limited.

Why I bought this knife: I was in a different home last year and I didn't have a good place to store knives except in my knife block. The largest slot was about 47mm tall, so I sought out a gyuto that was at or under 47mm. I also wanted to try stainless clad because my only other gyuto was iron clad. I e-mailed Craig at CKC back and forth about a few options and decided on the Nihei, mainly because it has a really flat profile and, in my opinion, is a really nice looking knife.