Powdered Steel Gyuto: Takamura, Sakon, Yahiko, Kohetsu

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jeff Giblin

Reaction score
I've been researching my next chef's knife purchase the past few months, and am definitely leaning towards the various Powder Metallurgy / PM / Powdered Steel / R-2 / SG2 / HSPS / HAP40 options due to the lightweight blade and high edge retention. I'm a home chef, been cooking more seriously the past year and in need of an upgrade. Here is the questionnaire:

United States

KNIFE TYPE
What type of knife are you interested in (e.g., chef’s knife, slicer, boning knife, utility knife, bread knife, paring knife, cleaver)?
Chef's Knife

Are you right or left handed?
Right Handed

Are you interested in a Western handle (e.g., classic Wusthof handle) or Japanese handle?
Western Handle

What length of knife (blade) are you interested in (in inches or millimeters)?
8-9 inches

Do you require a stainless knife? (Yes or no)
Yes, at least stainless clad

What is your absolute maximum budget for your knife?
$300 USD (and another $150 for sharpening tools)

KNIFE USE
Do you primarily intend to use this knife at home or a professional environment?
Home

What are the main tasks you primarily intend to use the knife for (e.g., slicing vegetables, chopping vegetables, mincing vegetables, slicing meats, cutting down poultry, breaking poultry bones, filleting fish, trimming meats, etc.)? (Please identify as many tasks as you would like.)
Mostly vegetables - Slicing vegetables, chopping vegetables, mincing vegetables. Occasionally slicing meats.

What knife, if any, are you replacing?
Kitchenaid 8" Chef Knife (on its last legs)

Do you have a particular grip that you primarily use? (Please click on this LINK for the common types of grips.)
Pinch Grip