QC - Sharpening class and/or master sharpener in Quebec?

Discussion in 'Sharpening Station' started by charlesquik, Jan 6, 2019.

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums by donating:

1. Jan 6, 2019 #1

charlesquik

charlesquik

charlesquik

Like the title say, is there any sharpening class happening near Quebec city? If not, is there any professional I can bring my j knives too? I'm still learning my way around sharpening so I don't want to destroy my 400$ takeda.

Thank you,

Chuck

2. Jan 6, 2019 #2

Walla

Walla

Walla

There is au trois pierres...I have no knowledge of what they are able to do...a quick google brought them up...

Lacking that...find a good restaurant and ask them who they trust with their knives...not the kitchen beaters...their own personal knives...

You can also try to contact Peter Nowlan in Halifax...he might know of someone...or you could send them directly to him....

There's also couteaux Diva...that offers sharpening service...try him as well...

Take care

Jeff

Last edited: Jan 6, 2019
  3. Jan 6, 2019 #3

Sailor

Sailor

Sailor

Hi, Peter Nowlan here in Halifax. (Thank you Jeff). Chuck, I’ve tried to find a service for folks in your area to save them shipping costs. There is a store in Montreal with a Professional sharpener but I’ve been told that he is quite expensive. I get knives sent from Quebec so I’m assuming it’s difficult to locate someone. My email is sharpenerpeter@gmail.com.

My personal opinion is that you should give it a shot yourself. The amount of information on this forum is quite something, there are several excellent sharpeners here who I’m sure will walk you through the process. I recently went through this with a man in Montreal who wanted to send me his knife but he ended up doing it himself and felt really good about it, a real sense of achievement. You won’t ruin your knife, many years ago before the internet I sharpened for years and had no idea what I was doing really, and I never ruined a knife. Think about it.