Serious grinding

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hey y'all. I'm new to this forum, so if there is a thread that discusses this already, please point me in that direction.
I've got a bit of thinning to be done on some gyutos, and serious bevel changes on some belt knives, and I'm curious what your experiences have been with using very coarse grit whetstones (specifically Shapton Pro 120 grit) vs. diamond plates. My only Whetstones are Imanishi/Bester 1200 & 4000, and I have no experience with coarse ones. I'm thinking of getting the shapton 120, but I'm concerned that it'll dish and wear out too quickly to be an economical choice, and also wondering about cutting speed compared to diamond.

I'd get a coarse Norton crystolon stone. Is very fast and hard

I'm not sure what you consider "a lot", but for large values you want want to consider the Harbor Freight 1" x 30" belt sander and some metal grinding belts to match. Not a high end setup, but seriously fast for pretty cheap. (Just remember if you can grind fast, you can screw things up at least that fast.)

I've used both coarse Crystolon and Shapton Pro 120. I think the Crystolon cuts faster, but, needs refreshing. Whereas the Shapton Pro doesn't necessarily need refreshing, but, can sometimes use it. It doesn't really need it for soft stainless cladding. That seems to generate enough mud to not load/slow down.

I've used both coarse Crystolon and Shapton Pro 120. I think the Crystolon cuts faster, but, needs refreshing. Whereas the Shapton Pro doesn't necessarily need refreshing, but, can sometimes use it. It doesn't really need it for soft stainless cladding. That seems to generate enough mud to not load/slow down.
SP 120 not good for Stainless ?

How about AS in Stainless cladding & SG2 steel?

My SP320 almost end of life, thinking of replace.