Stone set guidance - which is best

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Located in the UK but will be in the US in next couple weeks so can buy in either country. Looking for advice on a solid set of stones that will last me as I learn to sharpen. Will need to be able to sharpen western stainless steel (Wusthof, Henckels) and a few Japanese knives (SG2 and stainless clad Aogami Super). I am a home cook. Preferably not spending too much money (not really looking past $200) but willing to if it is substantially better/will last longer.

From reading the threads already on the forum, I am deliberating between:

The King 1000/6000 (although it has been said to dish a lot), and would need a coarser stone as well right?

Beston 500
Bester 1200
Suehiro Rika 5K

The Naniwa Chosera line, if so what combination of stones would I want?

The Shapton Pro or Shapton Glass line, again if so what combination of stones would I want?

The Gesshin line also looks nice, if so what combination of stones would I want? Does seem a bit more expensive than the rest, is it worth the higher price?

I will also likely buy a Atoma Diamond 140 for lapping.

Thank you for your advice on this.

Shapton Pro 1000/2000/5000 or Shapton Glass 500/2000/6000.

Both the Pro 2000 and the Glass 2000 is a very good finisher for soft stainless like Wüsthof, Henckels etc.

If you prefer to stay with the Kings, then I recommend the newer generation King Hyper 1000 (hard) and King Hyper 2000 and an Arashiyama 6000.

I would prefer the Shaptons, but that's a matter of personal preference.

Do you have enough experience to know if you have a preference for soakers vs splash and go stones?

Agree with above on Shapton Pro 1000, 2000, maybe 5000 for splash and go. They run about $60/stone on Amazon here last time I looked.