These are the ones I bought...

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alvaro_garcia

Reaction score
Ok here we go...

The ones I bought in the last weeks are different sizes of the following series:

ARCOS: Kyoto, Manhattan, Riviera
WÜSTHOF: Classic, Classic Ikon
ZWILLING J. A. HENCKELS: Pro, Professional S

I'm not an expert, but here there are my two cents on each brand / model:

ARCOS (Made in Spain since 1745):
- Kyoto: Wonderful knives, superb, 58 HRC Nitrum steel, outsandingly well designed and ergonomics (the best one), extraordinarily solid / robust (the thickest blade and very sturdy handle), extremely sharp (possibly the Arcos are the sharpest ones together with the Zwilling J. A. Henckels, but the Wüsthofs are also incredibly sharp, I'm not sure about this statement, all three brands are very good in this regard), hollow blade on the 21 cm chef knife.
- Manhattan: Very good ergonomics, "silk" edge, Nitrum steel, extremely sharp.
- Riviera: Best quality/price ratio of the bunch, Nitrum steel, extremely sharp.

WÜSTHOF (Made in Germany since 1814):
- Classic: Very refinely machined / finished, very solid, very sharp.
- Classic Ikon: As above (Classic) + better ergonomics (handling) and half bolster.

ZWILLING J. A. HENCKELS (Made in Germany since 1731):
- Pro: I'm very disappointed with the Zwilling Pro series, because albeit having a very attractive design and solidly built, but more than half of their knives have their blades twisted / off-set, therefore I'm returning them to be exchanged by new units. Why this? (lack of quality control? or minimizing costs?) However extremely sharp.
- Professional S: Thinner blade, lighter weight, extremely sharp.