Thinning - how high up do you go?

Discussion in 'Sharpening Station' started by PappaG, Mar 18, 2019.

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums by donating:

?

How much behind the edge do you thin

1. Just behind the edge

1 vote(s)
    8.3%
  2. 1/3 behind the edge

9 vote(s)
    75.0%
  3. 1/2 behind the edge

2 vote(s)
    16.7%
  1. Mar 18, 2019 #1

PappaG

PappaG

PappaG

I was reading the "coarse stone" thread and reading about removing scratch patterns.

I never know what people mean. Do they mean the edge? Do they mean right behind the edge? Do they mean far up the edge?

I'm not good at starting polls, but my question is two fold - when you thin how far up the blade do you "generally go" (I'm sure its different for different knives but humor me) and second question - when you say you remove scratch patterns with your stone progression, what exactly do you mean? the edge? All the way up the blade road? As part of the thinning process?

Sorry in advance if my questions suck...

2. Mar 18, 2019 #2

stringer

stringer

stringer

Supporting Member

I'll save you some time. You are going to get about 200 responses and they will all be some variant of: It depends.

lemeneid likes this.
  3. Mar 18, 2019 #3

stringer

stringer

stringer

Supporting Member

It depends on:
    The condition of the knife.
    The intended design and purpose of the knife
    How you want to use the knife
    Your skill and available tools
    Etc

RDalman likes this.
  4. Mar 18, 2019 #4

geoff_nocon

geoff_nocon

geoff_nocon

i lay mine flat on the stone. similar to sharpening a wide bevel

5. Mar 18, 2019 #5

RDalman

RDalman

RDalman

Thinning-how far-until you're happy (with how it cuts/looks)

6. Mar 18, 2019 #6

Wdestate

Wdestate

Wdestate