To those that use nakiris in a professional kitchen what exactly do you like about it?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aszma

Reaction score
so ive been working in a professional setting for about 5 years now and have been a knife nerd for about 3 of those years but ive recently downsized my knife kit from 9 knives to 3. There were many reasons to do so, one i was moving around a lot so in terms of travel it made me much lighter and two i just didnt feel like i NEEDED them not to say they wernt useful but there was a lot of over lap in what they were used for. One of the first knives i sold off was my nakiri and if im being super honestly i really enjoyed using my nakiri but for any job my nakiri could do my 240mm gyuto could also do and at work its just not as practical to have several knives on my board constantly switching between tasks when i can use my gyuto for most of my work. Not trying to bash anyone who uses a nakiri bc if we are being honest the main reason im posting this is to maybe give myself an excuse to buy another one but id just like to hear from other people who cook for a living why and how much use their nakiri gets.

I mean realistically how often is the tip of your knife needed or useful? I am a huge user of Nakiri and other cleaver in pro kitchen. I have found they are much easier to throw on a stone and sharpen in a hurry as well as take up less space on a crowded line. Most of my coworkers want nothing to do with the weird Nakiri knife but if I bring out a nice Gyuto it’s pass around show and tell time also.

I’ve been cooking professionally for almost 10 years. I carry a Watanabe pro nakiri. I certainly don’t need to have it in my kit. Realistically you can do almost anything with a gyuto, however sometimes I find that my nakiri is better at certain tasks and definitely more of a joy to use. I like options.