Toyama Noborikoi Handle Switch

Discussion in 'The Kitchen Knife' started by SilverSwarfer, Oct 20, 2019.

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums by donating:

1. Oct 20, 2019 #1

SilverSwarfer

SilverSwarfer

SilverSwarfer

I’ve got a Toyama Suji originally from JNS (I think), and I want to install a different handle. Curious whether anyone can help me with any tips.

I’ve installed handles on a few knives. I’m no seasoned pro but all my projects so far are successful. My process is pretty much the same as Maksim’s YouTube video.

My only real concern is how permanently the original handle is attached. Should I anticipate any significant challenges?

fimbulvetr likes this.
  2. Oct 20, 2019 #2

McMan

McMan

McMan

Super simple:

Sometimes they'll pop off easily enough with just a few firm taps. Or, sometimes it can take some oomph (but you'll know you're headed in the right direction once you see the handle begin to move a little after a few hard taps).
    If nothing's doing after hard taps, might be time for a chisel.
    IIRC Watanabe/Toyama are burnt on with no adhesive, so it shouldn't be too bad.

One thing--tape the edge. The one time I didn't, guess what happened...

CiderBear, Gjackson98 and M1k3 like this.
  3. Oct 20, 2019 #3

BlueSteel

BlueSteel

BlueSteel

My JNS Toyama handle came off super-easy with this method.

4. Oct 20, 2019 #4

Bensbites

Bensbites

Bensbites

I have rehandles several toyama’s with stock handles. They always pop right off, there is only a little sealing compound at the top of the tang hole.

one other thing to be aware of, every single Toyama I have touched has had a crooked or wavy tang. That means the tang holes may have to be slightly larger to ensure a straight install. They are amazing amazing performers, this detail always disappoints me.

SilverSwarfer likes this.
  5. Oct 21, 2019 #5

SilverSwarfer

SilverSwarfer

SilverSwarfer

Thanks for the input!