Very First Rough Profile (stock removal)

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Seffers93

Reaction score
Hello everyone!

I just came in from the garage and snapped a couple photos of my rough profile. This is my very first attempt at making a knife and I'm having a blast! I plan on waking up a couple hours earlier each day to put in more work. I never realized how little time I have even while working from home. Today I was running out to the garage on my 15-minute breaks and grinding for a couple minutes and then rushing back to the desk lol. It was highly recommended that I start off with something small like a petty.. and I was planning on doing so, but I decided to test my luck. If it turns out terrible, I'll go smaller!

So this knife will have about a 240mm cutting edge. Since this is my first attempt, I think I'm going to stick with a flat grind. I plan on taking about 40% - 50% off the edge before heat treat and then very carefully grinding the rest of the way as I only have a cheap 2x42 with no variable speed. Quick passes, no gloves and lots of water dunks. I'm also shooting for a distal taper. Will it work out as planned? Doubtful, but I'm sure going to try!

Can't wait to see how it turns out!

Attachments

• IMG_3997.jpg
    IMG_3997.jpg
    142.1 KB · Views: 27
  • IMG_3999.jpg
    IMG_3999.jpg
    210.6 KB · Views: 28
  • IMG_4001.jpg
    IMG_4001.jpg
    193.4 KB · Views: 24
Like the shape of it
Not sure everyone would agree but keep as much metal on as possible for the heat treat, less likely to get a warp.
Top advice (think it was Dave Martell, apologies to the original poster if not) if you have not already come across it - grind the distal taper first.
Good luck, looking forward to seeing more :)

Make sure to mark your 2 center lines that you are grinding to on the edge.