What sharpness is worth it?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

abepaniagua

Reaction score
As a home cook, I am trying to keep my knives sharp enough for daily use. I have a santoku, pairing knife and a gyuto. The first 2 are Tojiros DP (VG-10) and the last is a #2. I've been able to keep all three sharp but not as sharp as they can be or as I would like.

My desire would be to cut onions easier. For some reason, the knives are sharp but i can't cut onions like this guys does (here, starting at 2:23). I have a munetoshi gyuto, and I sharpened it a bit on a Shapton Pro 1k, then used the Arashiyama 6k to sharpen and light edge-trailing strokes with it. Do I need to spend more time? Or is that kind of sharpness unsustainable for a home cook who cooks on a daily basis?

Sharpness is only one aspect of what makes a great cutter, and it's for from the most important. The grind, especially whether the knife is "thin behind the edge" is much more important. If is too thick in that area, you experience difficulty in cutting anything that is over about a quarter-inch thick. I suspect that your knives could benefit from some judicious thinning.

Tojiro DP's are good knives, but they aren't known for great grinds. You don't say what the third knife is, but I suspect that all three of your knives could benefit from some judicious thinning, especially of the tip area.

Sharpness is only one aspect of what makes a great cutter, and it's for from the most important. The grind, especially whether the knife is "thin behind the edge" is much more important. If is too thick in that area, you experience difficulty in cutting anything that is over about a quarter-inch thick. I suspect that your knives could benefit from some judicious thinning.