What the heck is a bench nagura?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

captaincaed

(____((__________()~~~
KKF Supporting Member
Reaction score
I need some some experts help. My idea of a nagura was one you rubbed on top another for a number of reasons - cleaning the bench stone, creating slurry, a mix of grits, etc. So what the heck is a bench nagura? Isn't it just a bench stone?
This has perplexed me for ages.

Mikawa and Tsushima come to mind, I’m no expert but it seems like “nagura” is simply part of the nomenclature, as opposed to the general meaning of “correcting” stone.

Seems to me like bench sized Tsushima are just really big versions of the Tsushima nagura commonly seen. Not my personal favourite nagura, but possibly interesting as a bench stone.

Ok so how is a nagura defined? I know how it translates, but how does a stone get to be called a bench nagura rather than a bench stone?

The "just part of the nomenclature" angle makes some sense: Tsuchimas are normally small nagura, so we'll call this huge one a bench nagura. Like that?

Any stone hounds out there with the main line? May I rope in @naader or @nutmeg or @Forty Ounce or @Badgertooth?maybe @osakajoe if I'm lucky. I can't go into the new year ignorant, it just wouldn't be right 👶

Nagura was a person's name, who popularized the use of that type of stone. I say popularize because he is allegedly the person who "discovered" their use as whetstones, but 1. story could be apocryphal and 2. it's never so simple. given how long humans have been around, someone probably rubbed metal against those stones before him.

Even in the case of the smaller ones, my recollection is that it refers to the type of stone rather than its use, though tomo nagura/friend nagura would be an obvious exception.

My selfie
441CE548-F1BD-40E1-9224-F1A3290ADD1A.jpeg