which knife should I get next ?

Discussion in 'The Kitchen Knife' started by intelguy, Aug 9, 2018.

1. Aug 9, 2018 #1

intelguy

intelguy

intelguy

Hi to all knife expert here

I am a newbie to Japanese knife. So far I have the following types of knifes:

(1) VG-10 stainless steel 240mm Chef knife
    (2) VG-10 stainless steel 100mm paring knife
    (3) Narihira Stainless Japanese-style Deba Knife 150mm
    (4) Masashi Koi Nakiri 165mm.

If I prefer to get something with stainless steel for easy maintenance but with a Japanese handle, what else would you recommend me to get ? ( I am a newbie) .

Cheers,

Vincent

2. Aug 9, 2018 #2

Alexec

Alexec

Alexec

Tanaka Ginsan from KnS is a deal. Preety easy to sharpen(easier than vg10).

3. Aug 9, 2018 #3

intelguy

intelguy

intelguy

hi Alexec, is the Tanaka Ginsan you suggest me to get is gyuto

4. Aug 9, 2018 #4

Nemo

Nemo

Nemo

SR. Supporting Member

Welcome intelguy.

We need a bit more intel

It will help if you decide which type of blade you want next (gyuto, suji, petty, etc).

It will also help if you tell us which VG10 knives you have. The main difference between knives is in the profile (shape of the knife viewed from the side) and the grind (cross sectional shape) of the knife. The steel itself is important, but not as important as the grind in determining performance. With most steels (especially VG10), the way in which the smith (or the factory) heat treats the steel is more important than which steel is used. So the actual make of the knife is quite important.

I suggest that you fill out the questionnaire:
    https://www.kitchenknifeforums.com/index.php?threads/12791/

Cut and paste the questionairre into this thread, then answer the questions.

5. Aug 9, 2018 #5

Alexec

Alexec

Alexec

Yes, they have petty aswell

6. Aug 9, 2018 #6

intelguy

intelguy

intelguy

What country are you in? --> I am living in Vancouver, BC, Canada

KNIFE TYPE