Yanagiba for uncooked proteins (not just fish)

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Viggetorr

Reaction score
So I'm considering getting a shorter yanagiba (210) to use for slicing boneless chicken, pork and fish. I know that it is ideal for slicing fish, but wouldn't it be equally useful for, say, slicing a chicken breast, since the texture of the two are pretty similar?

I realize I could of course just use a gyuto for this, but I imagine a yanagiba might just be even better.

Any thoughts on this (sharpening issues aside)?

Isn't the increased length part of the point of a Yanagiba, so that you can go through the protein in one stroke without having to saw?

I'm still new to knives this but that was the impression I'd gained so far :)

I have a 150mm yanagi that I use to clean silver skin off of beef and pork. I really dig the single bevel for this, I know it's not what it's used for, but I don't care.

I mean, if you ever go to Japan you’ll see people using knives for things outside of their intended purpose all the time. As long as it gets the job done the way you like it to, then why not? In the end it’s just a tool that’s meant to be useful for your cooking.

That being said I certainly wouldn’t recommend using a deba for katsuramuki or an usuba for boning. :p

I think you probably get my gist: if the knife can handle it and it’s useful for you then more power to you.

I mean, if you ever go to Japan you’ll see people using knives for things outside of their intended purpose all the time. As long as it gets the job done the way you like it to, then why not? In the end it’s just a tool that’s meant to be useful for your cooking.

That being said I certainly wouldn’t recommend using a deba for katsuramuki or an usuba for boning. :p

I think you probably get my gist: if the knife can handle it and it’s useful for you then more power to you.