Hello from freezing cold Finland

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hattiwatti

Reaction score
Hello all!

Thank you for this very informative and polite forum, happy to be joining here.

I am a home cook from Finland with a bit of culinary background years ago. Stumbled here after reading BDL´s texts from another forum and watching Jons great sharpening videos on youtube. I have always had a soft spot for good kitchen knives. After reading a while in here about sharpening and Japanese knives, I realized I didn’t know a thing and I think I’m developing a serious addiction. :)

Now I want to try some (hopefully not too many ;) new Japanese knives and I´m eager to get some nice whetstones, so I can learn freehand sharpening and properly maintain all of my knives. I´ve just used a honing steel (F. Dick Combi) and a terrible Chef´s Choice Edge Craft diamond “sharpening file/steel” that my local kitchenware store fooled me to buy… Luckily I have used the Edge Craft thingy only on cheap stainless and once on my MAC.

I have a few European knives (Victorinox set, F. Dick fish filleting knife) and a MAC nakiri. The fish filleting knife is as cheap as you can get, but that´s the one I learned to fillet fish with, when I worked in a fish market counter in the middle of my culinary studies. I just bought a new one to replace my dear old workhorse that I got from the fish shop when I left there. It’s funny how thrilled you can get over a 20$ piece of steel.

Anywho, nice to meet you and beware of silly beginner questions I´m going to be asking soon!

Welcome!

I say get some whetstones to practice sharpening on the King 1k/6k is a good starter stone

Welcome aboard Hatti. So how cold us it?

Greetings Hattiwatti!