Counterfeit knives

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GeorgePatron

Reaction score
Hey all! I am new to the world of knives and kitchen, so I came up to be very suspicious with an order i made online. I found a store in a city near me which happens to supposedly sell Shun Kaji knives stainless and damascus in 70% discount. In excitement I ordered the offer of the damascus steel knives saying the set of 5 from 1000 euros only 300. Then I started searching to find any same models because the handles those knives have are special and I could not find any picture of shun kaji knives with such handles, then I noticed in other kaji series knives that for example the chefs model code is KDM0006 and the Santoku is kdm 0004 ok? In the pics of the knives I ordered all have the same model code KDM0006. Anyway I wish to hear your opinions on the matter and suggest me how to move when the package arrives, I dont want to end up spending 300 euros on fake shuns. Thanks in advance for your time!

https://www.homeone.gr/set-macha-ria-chef-5-tmch-kai-shun-kaji-kdm0006.html/

That is the link of the knives from the store.

No offense but I wouldn't spend 300 euros on real Shuns...guess would be an older model but I have no idea.

To my knowledge the Kaiji line is an exclusive product of Williams Sonoma, a nationwide retailer in the states. That's not to say Shun may not offer it in some other markets worldwide. I've not seen that particular handle configuration on any Shun, anywhere, but again that's not to say it's not genuine. I've played the knife game a little bit and have not seen a case of counterfeit knives. Have seen more than a few forged ones though.

Can certainly say it's not Damascus though it may have a dammy layer on the outside about the thickness of a gum wrapper. Adds nothing but bling and price to the knife.