Dao Vua 210mm Tall Gyuto (V3)

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jman8310

Reaction score
I want to start by saying that this review is coming from a rookie. The first knife I ever used was a random Chinese cleaver. This was during my first ever job, at age 16, the USA's legal age at the time. I worked as a food prep in a local Chinese Buffet. I spent most of my time running semi-thawed meats through a meat slicer, and chopping the meats into 1" squares for the chefs, along with slicing vegetables, and was the designated fried rice cook for the buffet. Only worked there 6 months, and kept the cooking hobby, but never took decent knives into consideration until recently.

*Ahem* so. I bought the Dao Vua V3 210mm tall gyuto, after a little research. The knife came looking great. It was somewhat sharp, but sharpened up very quickly and easily with cheap, no-name whetstones and a strop. Prior to this, I had been using cheap, stainless steel knives from factories. It was a chore to sharpen them, and they frequently needed a new edge. The Dao Vua arrived a month before typing this review. It has already developed a really nice patina, and makes very quick and easy work of any vegetable, and some meats such as boneless, skinless chicken thighs, cheap beef steaks and pork. A month later and the edge still seems like the day I sharpened it, with only one stopping done during this time. I'm too "new" to the game to really provide you with good thoughts on the balance, but it feels so right when I use knife.

I'm definitely a function > form guy. To me, this is the perfect knife. I believe that it performs at a very high level for my needs, and the price was just right.
2023-09-19-17-27-59-662.jpg