For The Knifemakers: Comparative Steel Removal Volumes of 2"x72" Belts

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MSicardCutlery

Full-time Knifemaker-Canadian Mazaki
KKF Sponsor
Reaction score
Since I started doing this, even as a hobbyist, I've been a diehard Norton Blaze fan, and for various reasons, availability, curiosity etc. I've experimented with other belts but today I decided to perform a more quantitative analysis and record it here for the reference of others. This is by no means scientific, but I'll specify as many of the variables that I can and consider relevant.

I almost always do the bulk of my grinding with 36 grit belts, I've tried the VSM 880Y's, RedHeat's, Combat Shredders, but keep coming back to my trusty Norton Blaze belts. I've tried the 50 grit belts, and still prefer the 36's, especially on MagnaCut.

Today's test is as follows

• 3 gyutos, 2x215mm, 1x220mm, same heel height ~55mm, 2.7mm thick MagnaCut @~63hrc.
  • With separate belts I ground in steep ~30 degree bevels to get the corners off of the edge and bring the edge thickness to ~.02"-.03". This prolongs the life of the belts significantly. I also made a quick pass to knock off any scale loose enough to vibrate off the blades
  • I tested the following belts made by Norton: Blaze 24 grit, Blaze 36 grit, and the Razorstar 36 grit
  • I reconditioned/dressed/resurfaced the belts using a piece of hardened O1 tool steel when the belts began to glaze and did so as necessary until it was no longer impactful
  • I concluded the use of one belt when it became glazed over and could not be dressed to any avail
  • "Glazed" in this context meaning dulled to the point of leaving a reflective scratch pattern on the blank
  • Blanks were weighed prior to grinding (after knocking off the corners and scale) and after to determine the volume of steel removed