Gardening 2024

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Michi

I dislike attempts to rewrite history
Reaction score
Just pulled a bunch of habanero chilies off the bush.

IMG_6356.jpg

That's the second lot I've harvested, and there is more to come.

IMG_6380.jpg

About to make a bunch of hot sauce :)

I’ve got poblanos, pasillas and piquillos growing at the moment (taking a while to ripen in our milder summer down here in Melbourne):
Bloody hell, those poblanos look awesome! Where did you get the seeds/seedlings? I've been looking for poblanos and have come up empty-handed so far.
And a hedge full of sweet basil:
Oh yeah! :)
What do you typically do for a winter crop?
I don't know. That's because I'm a beginner gardener. I got serious with this only about six months ago. Prior to that, it was just herbs and a few chillies. Now I got the bug and I'm trying to grow all sorts of things. Various tomatoes, lettuces, beans, cucumber, okra, capsicum, silverbeet, plus a large assortment of herbs and around a dozen different chillies. Still very much in the learning phase, throwing stuff against the wall to see what sticks…

There’s always something growing in my garden, this is a winter version, Dicon, radishes, mustard, greens, pock, choy, bok choy, arugula, lettuce, Chinese cabbage, red sale, lettuce, and cilantro
I have to eat all this by March 15 then it is time to plant my spring garden.

Attachments

• IMG_2112.jpeg
    IMG_2112.jpeg
    5.1 MB · Views: 0
Bloody hell, those poblanos look awesome! Where did you get the seeds/seedlings? I've been looking for poblanos and have come up empty-handed so far.
Thanks mate! It’s a bit of a labour of love, especially with the Melbourne climate.
What you’re not seeing are the guajillo seedlings that didn’t make it. Or the Thai purple ball eggplant seedlings that got trampled by the local possums.