Honesuki or Petty...

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HumbleHomeCook

Embrace your knifesculinity!
KKF Supporting Member
Reaction score
I'm seriously considering getting a honesuki. I'm a home cook who enjoys breaking down chickens and do two or three in about as many weeks. Currently I use a Wusthof Gourmet 6" cook's knife for it and it does alright but the shape isn't ideal.

I don't do a lot of petty-type work as in in-hand or real detailed work.

I guess the only thing somewhat lingering in my mind is a bot of versatility. I reckon the obvious answer is the petty is more versatile but can a honesuki provide some versatility?

A bit of out loud thinking if you will but also interested in the thoughts of you experienced folks.

Thanks in advance.

I've been watching alot of YouTube videos about yakatori lately and am also considering getting a honesuki. I generally prefer stainless knives but am thinking of getting a carbon for this as it will only be used on chicken. Thinking about getting a Masashi besaku, Masamoto Tsukiji, or a Kikuichi.

I'll jump in and make it even more confusing: What about honesuki's vis-a-vis garasuki's?

Anyway, back on topic! :) I've been using a Misono Swedish carbon honesuki for a few months now and I'm thoroughly impressed. Both by the honesuki shape being so efficient in breaking down chickens, as well as by the Misono. I haven't tried other brands in a honesuki but the Misono just works. You can tell it's a tried and tested design, everything just flows smoothly.

The one thing a honesuki cannot do is go through bones. Perhaps it can, but once you see how sharp it cuts, you'll become a bit hesitant to waste the edge on cutting chicken bones. So for that I just use an old Kiwi beater knife.

See Misono Sweden Steel Series Boning (145mm and 165mm, 2 sizes)