Is there a knife for me

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MarkC

Reaction score
I volunteer in a kitchen that prepares primarily vegetarian meals for people that are recovering from difficult diseases like cancer. I work two - three days per week in 3 hour shifts. Our primary duties are to prep vegetables and some fruit. The prepped food is organized for the afternoon shift of mostly high school students that are taught to cook the food and an evening set of volunteers drive the meals to those in need.

The kitchens are organized and managed by professional chefs but the knives and plastic cutting boards are not sharp or ideal. I am new to Japanese knives and only have a few MAC knives in my home kitchen. I have followed several threads and found a couple of profiles and price points that I thought would work from Wakui, Mazaki, and Tanaka. I have exchanged a few emails with sellers that are known on the boards and several have raised concern over the cutting boards and the fact that I would likely experience chipping. I also have questions over materials. Prefer carbon knives and can wipe my knives and properly wash them, but need to be sure that I do not cause blackening on foods like onions or apples for example.

So after my initial excitement, I am now hesitant to move forward due to the concerns raised over chipping / damaging the knives. I do not have the choice of using a rubber / soft wood cutting board in the kitchen.

Any recommendations, suggestions are appreciated for a newby that is trying to sort things out.

Thanks,

Mark

US

KNIFE TYPE
What type of knife are you interested in (e.g., chef’s knife, slicer, boning knife, utility knife, bread knife, paring knife, cleaver)? Chef

Are you right or left handed? Right

Are you interested in a Western handle (e.g., classic Wusthof handle) or Japanese handle? Japanese