Liver Transplant

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Elfen23

Reaction score
Way off the usual topics around here, but...

Anyone have any experience with Liver Transplants? Looks like my Dad is in need of a new one. Acute Liver Failure is no joke.

Not a knife or cooking question - but this is as varied a group of people and professions as I've found anywhere :)

He's currently at a transplant center being evaluated to see if he's a candidate for transplant. Best case scenario since my blood type matches his is that they approve him for transplant, and I can be a live donor. At least, that's what I *think*.

Anyone here better in the know about these things?

Thanks!

I'm no doctor but I believe you are correct. A living donor gives like 1/2 their liver to the patient or something like that...science.

liver probably is the only living organ that can regenerate and regrow after you cut parts of it off.. Not sure what exactly is the question but you can donate half of your liver to your dad.

hope all goes well

I'm no doctor but I believe you are correct. A living donor gives like 1/2 their liver to the patient or something like that...science.

Indeed. Research says about 70% is taken, and it usually regenerates in 4-8 weeks.

I suppose I'm just trying to get info because the protocols to determine eligibility seem maddeningly slow. Grrrrrrr.

I can only find generic info regarding the criteria for both recipients and donors. I really should've gone to med school. :dontknow:

hard to explain if you don't have any scientific/medical knowledge..

Our immune response will attack anything that is considered foreign.

in a nutshell,