Need help deciding first stone.

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all, I am new to whetstones, but not sharpening or metal in general. Have worked in CNC manufacturing and also keep my German knives sharp with an electric wheel and honing rods. Now that I'm getting more into Japanese I naturally need to start getting into better sharpening practices for longevity and performance of the blades. I will be mostly sharpening Japanese knives, but will use it for German too. Steels include but not limited to X50CrMoV15, VG10, SG2, SKD12, SV35VN and White #1.

I could use some help making sure my choices for a starting kit make sense to those with more experience. I know 1000 is the recommended starting stone, but I'm leaning towards a 2000 instead. I keep all my knives sharp and will only be cleaning up edges mostly. If I do friends blades that are chipped I can run them through the electric Chefs Mate and quickly grind them to a clean 20 or 15 deg edge and just refine on 2000 stone from there. I don't really have a budget, but I'm fine with anything <$500 USD so if something is nice to have, I'd rather make the experience easier/nicer to start. That said, I don't want to get things that will be wasted. Also, I want to keep it splash-and-go as these will be stored in a closet and pulled out as need for avid home cook use.

Currently thinking...
  • Atoma #400 (mostly for lapping, but if I need something coarse it has double duty).
  • Naniwa Pro 2000 (this seems a good grit for getting a decent edge pretty nice again)