New to sharpening and need help...

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm pretty new to sharpening and I'm struggling a bit with my technique. I could really use some advice.

I picked up a Daovua 240 mm gyuto to use as a practice knife, and I've been using SG500 and SP2000 stones for sharpening. I've been using Peter Nowlan's Knife Planet school series as my guide. To dull the knife before sharpening, I've been rubbing it on the edge of a 320 stone until the edge is dull. When sharpening, I've been keeping the knife in my right hand and flipping it over (rather than switching hands) and using edge trailing strokes.

My problem (well, the biggest one, anyway) right now is that I'm having a very difficult time maintaining constant contact between the blade and the stone when sharpening the right side of the blade. I seem to be catching the edges of the stone (rocking the blade, I suppose) much more than when I'm sharpening the left side of the blade. In the pictures below, you can see the sharpie marks on the right side show I'm all over the place in making contact with the stone, while the left side picture shows only a nice, think line of contact at the edge.

I figure there has to be something screwy with my technique when sharpening the right side of the blade. Any ideas - other than 'keep practicing' - to help me find a more consistent stroke on the right side?