Paella Pan and thoughts

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

coxhaus

Reaction score
I just bought a Mauviel 1830 15-inch pan from Amazon. I have enough credit where it only costs $69. It is a little bigger than my large cast iron pan. I plan to use it for Paella and roasting bones for beef stock.

I also bought this Paella spice which comes from Spain. It has a nice flavor. I am new at Paella, and I could not find a thread on Paella so I thought I would start one.

What do you guys use and what spices? Do you vary your recipes? How do you cook Paella?

My first batch I used chicken thighs, Mexican chorizo and shrimp. I cooked the onion, garlic in a quarter cup olive oil and then added the chorizo and chicken thighs. I then added the rice cooked it in the oil. I then added roasted red bell peppers and garden fresh tomatoes. Next I added chicken stock and let it cook on the BBQ. I rotated the pan about half way through the cook cycle where I added the shrimp, peas, and few fresh tomatoes. I noticed I did not have crispy rice on the bottom. Maybe my cast iron was too thick? My cast iron is real thick for campfire use. Or some other error in cooking.

Any way I plan to cook a lot more Paella.

IMG_0878.jpg

IMG_0879.jpg

IMG_3486.jpg

In my very uneducated opinion paella is more a technique than a strict recipe. Although some Spaniards might disagree about this, but even there you see significant regionaly variety. You can actually go beyond this; the principles of paella, pilav, plov, pilau and persian rice are all very similar, just somewhat different ingredients (basically what would have been available in a region traditionally). Even risotto isn't that far off; they just keep the rice moist in the end, but if you give risotto a bit more time to get rid of the liquid you actually start getting towards a similar result.