Repairing a TF Marboroshi

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I recently acquired saved this knife from the back of a kitchen drawer. As I understand it, it had been there for a decade unused. :eek:

I cleaned it up best I could to see what I was dealing with. Used a white vinegar soaked paper towel wrapped on the blade for an hour then a thorough scrub with soft brush. It has what looks to be light rusting along the blade edge, but I don't think it's too deep.

I am new to working on knives, but feel pretty confident. That said, how hard is this repair for a newbie? My thought is to just keep the blade as flat as possible to the stone and work slowly until I get the rust to disappear, then smooth it out with a finer stone. Is that the correct approach? If yes, should I start with a SG500 then up to Naniwa Pro1000 to finish?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

IMG_1170.jpg
IMG_1169.jpg

IMG_1172.jpg
IMG_1173.jpg
IMG_1171.jpg
IMG_1174.jpg

The knife looks to be in decent shape, all things considered.

If you have experience polishing on stones, then a Shapton 500 is a great place to start.

If you don’t, start with 400grit sandpaper and hand sand, working up in the grits until you’re at 1-2k

I love the hazy shinogi, but thought the 3k would start to polish to a shine.

Would the slurry be more beneficial than straight stone? Just softer for lack of better term?

I currently have an SG500 and Chocera Pro 1000 and 3000. The 3k will probably get too shiny though, no?
I find the Chocera 3k to be a very difficult stone to achieve an even finish. 1k should be easier, but really a soft muddy stone will be the easiest route. If you have any interest in picking up a King 800, that will be pretty foolproof.

I love the hazy shinogi, but thought the 3k would start to polish to a shine.