Setup for a professional sharpener

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Miley

Reaction score
So I've been really doing a lot of sharpening over the last couple years. I'm a chef and have become obsessed with knife repair and sharpening. I've even started a small business doing knives for other restaurants.

The equipment I use is a mixture of shapton pro and shapton glass stones up to 8000. I also have a harbor freight belt sander that I use to grind down bolsters. I also have razor sharp paper sharpening wheels that work well for cheap knives if I'm in a hurry. Do you think a tormek wet grinder would be a valuable piece of equipment if the business takes off? I was also thinking about upgrading my belt sander, any recommendations? I've had a hard time doing regrinds on the harbor freight sander because the work area is small and the knife bounces off the platen. Can anyone give me some tips for using the belt grinder to thin and regrind?

I also have an edge pro professional with shapton glass stones. It's pretty great so far. I still do most knives freehandand I'll probably stick with that for the most part. I'm also considering taking Murray Carters sharpening class while I visit my brother in Oregon.

Thanks for reading this long post

What do other pro sharpeners out there using for high end chef knives?

I'm considering getting a Harbor Freight belt sander one of these days. I'm curious, why is the knife bouncing off the platen? Does the belt have bumps in it? Have you tried other aftermarket belts?