Wanting to switch to carbon from stainless steel

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Good afternoon all! I’m dipping my toes into the carbon world. I have a stainless clad shun set that I’ve used for years. But they loose their edge quickly and they chip all the time. I’m only an amateur home cook, but cook nearly every day, so they see plenty of use.

My plan is to ultimately replace them with higher quality knives that hold an edge better. This led me to the world of carbon. I purchased a small 4.5 inch mini chef knife made from 52100 from element fe forge. I can already tell a difference in quality.

My real question is, how challenging is it to keep rust off carbon knives? I’ve had mine for a couple weeks and it looks good, but I clean it immediately after use and only have used it for smaller jobs. For those that switched from stainless steel to carbon is it difficult to keep up with?

Embrace the carbon. :)

I came from a heavy stainless-only background. So much fear mongering out there around carbon. I finally tried a carbon blade and from then on I was hooked! Now the overwhelming majority of my daily tools are iron clad/carbon core knives.

52100 is pretty stable and not too much trouble at all. Many mono steels are like that.

For iron clad/carbon core knives, it is often the cladding that is more reactive than the core steel. But, even then most cladding isn't that bad. I don't do the "must wipe it down before it touches the board" thing. As long as you don't leave them sitting for too long they do alright. By that I mean a few minutes is usually fine. If you cut something acidic, a quick rinse is a good idea.