What have I got myself into? :newhere:

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

apathetic

Reaction score
Hi guys,

Just joined this site and I am enjoying it so far!
I am still new to the knife world, it all started with an innocent thought really: how would a good knife feel like?
I had been using cheap knives in the beginning and thought I should upgrade to something decent. So I went online to see what I could find. After quite a bit of research I ended up getting a sakai yusuke white steel gyuto. Sure it was scary to jump directly from cheap knives to a carbon knife, but might as well go all out :)
And sure enough that knife feels like it's from another planet compared to what I was using. I am working on my cutting skills and have got some stones for sharpening. So far it's been a lot of fun, caring for a carbon knife is not as complicated or even time consuming as I thought initially. I still have a lot to learn in terms of sharpening, but that will come with practice. I was able to raise a burr (felt pretty much like what was described).

So where does that leave us? With a lot more questions:
Where does sakai yusuke stand in this forum?
Where should I go from here, ie should I try other knife styles, other makers, etc...
The thing is, I went through part of the 'Show your newest knife buy' topic and couldn't stop drooling. Bad sign, I am already itching to try a new knife. :knife:

Welcome! You're in good company here, we all have the same sickness.

Oops! Hit submit lol.

I don't know much about the knife you bought...but I can tell already you'll be buying many other knives lol...both styles, and makers. Its a pretty deep pool you've jumped feet first into :D. If you want to be perma-broke...keep an eye on the BST section. So far I've restrained myself (mostly because I'm already broke!)...but its only a matter of time!