What knife do you like the best?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

memorael

Reaction score
Which knife do you find you like the best based solemnly on the way it feels when cutting? please describe.

The Kuwabara White #2 210mm gyuto. Much thicker than any knife I own and cuts better than pretty much all of them.

The Kuwabara White #2 210mm gyuto. Much thicker than any knife I own and cuts better than pretty much all of them.
Can you post a pic? I have never seen or heard of them before.

Readily available? Yoshi SKD. 2nd place: Yoshi Stainless clad white. Wat blue KU is right up there as well.

Not so available? Devin aebl, Tillman Leder, Marko 52100, Harbeer Zwear, Haburn 52100, Martell 52100, and I'm just getting started. And no, they're not in any particular order.

It's not the steel, it's the maker.

Edit: How did I forget the old style Gengetsu? Absolute favorite in the "was a production knife" category.

Last edited:
My Watanabe is my most effortless cutter and a nice weight. Behind that, Shihan feel really good in the hand.

Readily available? Yoshi SKD. 2nd place: Yoshi Stainless clad white. Wat blue KU is right up there as well.

Not so available? Devin aebl, Tillman Leder, Marko 52100, Harbeer Zwear, Haburn 52100, Martell 52100, and I'm just getting started. And no, they're not in any particular order.

It's not the steel, it's the maker.
How's the SKD steel? I have never used it, hear its a real beast.

The maker, and the sharpness. Usually the knife I sharpened most recently feels best. Also depends a lot on what you are cutting. If I would have to guess what I like best overall, it could still be the TF Denka.
Knives that you sharpen very often develop a certain, I don't know what, that makes them hard to beat.

How's the SKD steel? I have never used it, hear its a real beast.