How thin is thin..for a nakiiri?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wphill

Reaction score
I am in the middle of a nakiri project. Goal--make a lower end knife perform more like an upper-middle tier nakiri.
This particular nakiri has convexing on the left side while the right side is flat. So far I have just thinned out the
right side, followed by bevel work for the entire edge (right and left sides).

Performance is certainly the ultimate standard, but along the way if one has a (cheap) calibrator how thin
would one want to set as a goal?

In my case I'm measuring at an approximate point of 2.5mm above the cutting edge, which raises another
question...how high up from the edge would one want to be thinning? Certainly, a lot of subjectivity is involved.
Still, as a rookie, I think of guidelines as helpful.

P1030341.JPG

The steel is #1 white.

From the handle to the distal end: .68mm,.75mm, .93mm.

Edge gets thinner, if measuring closer to the edge..at about 1.5mm above:
.33mm; .38mm; .53mm

Measuring was an after thought. Project remains in progress.
Is it a good thing for the edge of a nakiri to get thicker toward the distal end?

I think you're on the right track but it all depends on how thin you actually want it. Grabbing one of my thin nakiri, my measurements about 2.5mm from the edge are in the 0.4mm range. Nakiri don't need to be that thin, though if yours has a thin spine, it probably ought to have a reasonably thin edge too. Test it on a raw dense carrot and see how it moves through before deciding it must absolutely be thinner.

I recommend flattening and grinding down the whole kireba (tall bevel) if possible, rather than just behind the edge.

And in general, no it is not good to be thicker near the tip. It is a consequence of lazy grinding and perhaps forging, in my opinion.