Short term work overseas

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FishmanDE

Reaction score
Hey all,

Considering dropping everything and doing some shorter term work around Europe. I’ve never done anything like this before, but any leads or advice are welcome!

Nick

Sorry I have no leads or particular advice, only strong encouragement: do it!! It likely will change your life with a new wider perspective and the wonderful sense of adventure! I’m so stoked for you!

No reason not to if you fancy it.

My only advice would probably be to start in London and go from there. There is a massive shortage of hospitality workers in London atm, boh and foh. There always is slightly, but it's been hugely exacerbated by mindless political vandalism. You cold probably walk into any restaurant in London atm and be given a job on the spot. Which would also mean getting a short term work visa will be easy I imagine.

And despite Brexit, London kitchens are still going to be fairly diverse in terms of nationalities. You'll be able to pick up further leads in other countries if you want to move on.

Obviously also - you speak the language. I don't know what others you have, but for all but the highest echelons of Michelin dining, you'd want to speak the language I think, at least a bit.

Depending on the country it may be difficult to procure working visas.
In Spain the easiest parts (apart from Bcn and Madrid) to find jobs would be Ibiza, Malaga (summertime only). Pais Basqo probably the most interesting cuisine wise.
Some kitchens you can get away with English only, not many though.

Difficulty in getting working visas are not to be underestimated. I got a job in Germany, but the government refused to give me a visa because I didn't have an official training. If you have a cooking degree/training certification, this might help in some countries.