Stainless knife appears to be staining

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sparhawk

Reaction score
I recently purchased a nakagawa ginsan bunka with stainless cladding from home butcher. I've noticed after using it that the knife appears to be staining with use from cutting bell peppers. Is this laq uer I need to remove? I also noticed that the engraving was very red when it arrived but that shouldn't be rust correct?

Sorry I'm new to all this but want to make sure I'm not making any major mistakes.
1000016994.jpg
1000016993.jpg

That might be some left over lacquer...or potentially it could be some patina/rust. Stainless is just as it sounds...stain-less. Not stainproof. They can definitely get some patina or even rust if left dirty for quite awhile.

That might be some left over lacquer...or potentially it could be some patina/rust. Stainless is just as it sounds...stain-less. Not stainproof. They can definitely get some patina or even rust if left dirty for quite awhile.
I've been wiping it after use so didn't think it would stain that fast being stainless clad ginsan.

From what I've read to remove the lawyer I would just go over it with acetone.

Is it better to remove the rust or go over with hot water as stated below? What would be the best method for the kanji.

I've been wiping it after use so didn't think it would stain that fast being stainless clad ginsan.

From what I've read to remove the lawyer I would just go over it with acetone.

Is it better to remove the rust or go over with hot water as stated below? What would be the best method for the kanji.
I'd remove the lacquer.
You can remove the rust. But unless you're able to get all the bits out causing the rust, it'll come back eventually.