Gesshin (400, 2000, 6000) and JNS (800, 6000) stone "shootout"

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Matus

Staff member
Global Moderators
KKF Supporting Craftsman
KKF Supporting Member
Reaction score
It just so happens that for a short period of time I have the possibility to use in parallel 3 Gesshin stones (400, 2k, 6k) and 2 JNS stones (800, 6k). I am the lucky owner of the Gesshin setup, but the JNS stones are meant as a present.

Anyhow - I though that I should get my hands on the JNS stones before passing them on to their rightful owner and share here my impressions and thoughts :)

Please note that this is not supposed to be a full review or head-to-head comparison. Mainly because I am not experienced enough for the former and because of the differences in grit and personal preferences for the latter.

These stones are a mix of soakers G400, G2k and JNS800 and splash&go stones (both 6k). But since all of these stones can be perma-soaked, I have soaked them all for about the same period of time prior to use. The shortest soak time for 30 minutes which should be enough for all of these stones.

So - the stones soaking nicely. This is after about 20 minutes. The G400 and JNS800 still bubble slightly. From left to right: G400, G2k, G6k, JNS800 and JNS6k:

The knives.

I have used a mix of carbon, stainless and semi-stainless knives. Some needed just a slight retouch, but some had light blade damage or micro-chipping, that justified the use of coarser stones.
(a) 130 mm no-name low end wwestern style stainless petty/pairing knife which is rather thick behind the edge. Was rather dull, so it got a full workout.