Dumb question about trimming fish

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Okay, apologies for the really dumb question, but I’ve only got into preparing fish recently (I’m a total novice), but I’m keen to learn tips and techniques, so all advice welcome.

Let me set the scene:
My son and I caught some fish recently, and I prepped them as best I could into fillets. As part of removing the skin, there seemed to be a layer of what looked like “silver skin” left in some places on the belly, where I’d either torn or missed slicing the backing of the skin, and I found this significantly more difficult to trim off than I would have expected.

My question relates to how to effectively remove this “silver skin” (and apologies, I’m not sure if that’s the right term, as that’s what I’d call it on the whole beef rump I was trimming today).

Previously my only experience with fish preparation was slicing pre-trimmed salmon for sashimi.

Let me describe what I’ve tried, and what I’m thinking and feel free to correct:

Okay, so I’ve got a couple of photos of what I’m calling “silver skin” in the bottom left hand corner (but maybe it’s not muscle membrane, maybe it’s a layer of skin):
IMG_1534.jpeg

And here where you can see it above the fat layer:
IMG_1535.jpeg

So, what I’ve tried:

A parallel slice dragging the edge across the top of the fillet:
IMG_1536.jpeg

But at that acute angle I found that either the edge wasn’t digging in to cut the “silver skin” (although you can see beads of fat on the edge), and if I pushed harder, the really soft fillet just compressed, resulting in no better removal of the “silver skin”.
IMG_1537.jpeg

Next I tried a less acute cutting angle and that successfully removed the “silver skin” but left a fairly large “divot” in the fillet.