Deburring help

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

phasedweasel

Founding Member
Reaction score
Good morning. I am having a really hard time with the deburring step in sharpening. My main kitchen knife is a Yoshikane, and while I'm still learning how to freehand sharpen I've tried to stick to just using the King 1k / 6k combo stone. I just can't seem to reliably deburr the blade after raising it on the 1k. I've tried pulling through natural cork (lightly through very firmly for a lot of passes), reverse pyramid stroke schemes, stropping strokes, trying to work harden it and snap it off, moving to the 6k to reduce it, moving to the 6k to reduce and then lightly working on 1k to remove, etc. I've got nothing. Does anyone have a good technique without purchasing a felt block? I'm willing to do so but I'd rather stick with just stones and cork if it's feasible. Thanks!!

My cheap felt fix for you involves going to WalMart. Close to the hardware section, probably where the bathroom fixtures are they have a moving supplies section. Things like pads that you put underneath furniture so it slides across the floor. They have 2 different grades of felt that have adhesive on the other side.
I took pieces of wood and attached the felt to it. Works like a champ on the cheap!]
http://www.walmart.com/ip/MASTER-CASTER-COMPANY-Felt-Pads-1-2-x5-7-8-16-PK-Beige/21439120

Save all your wine corks for deburring.

Don't move up stones until the burr is gone from the stone you are using.

I am not sure that deburring after each stone is nesesary. I've seen both opinions but personally I just move up and use lighter pressure on higher grits. Once done, couple passes on cork and if I am not sure, several stropping strokes on diamond loaded leather.