Damascus steel query

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cardey88

Reaction score
I have recently purchased the Shun Fuji 8 1/2" chefs knife and had to return the first owing to a warp in the metal near the tip of the blade.
My replacement has arrived and it is warp free but the narrow polished portion of the blade, (between the Damascus pattern and the cutting edge) is uneven on either side of the knife.
On one side it is about .5cm all the way down on the other side it is less than half that and towards the tip of the blade the Damascus pattern actually runs onto the cutting edge.
I'm no Damascus expert and just wanted to check if anybody knew if this is a quality issue?

I have recently purchased the Shun Fuji 8 1/2" chefs knife and had to return the first owing to a warp in the metal near the tip of the blade.
My replacement has arrived and it is warp free but the narrow polished portion of the blade, (between the Damascus pattern and the cutting edge) is uneven on either side of the knife.
On one side it is about .5cm all the way down on the other side it is less than half that and towards the tip of the blade the Damascus pattern actually runs onto the cutting edge.
I'm no Damascus expert and just wanted to check if anybody knew if this is a quality issue?

A picture would help. It may just be cosmetic and may not affect the performance. The bottom line is your satisfaction though, if it is not to your liking return it -again.

If the cladding runs all the way to the cutting edge, return it.

It isn't the end of the world, but dealing with cladding is a complication to your sharpening endeavors that you should only have to face once you've owned the knife for some time--not right out of the box.