Getting and Feeling a Burr

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alfreedo

Reaction score
I'm a rookie sharpener and need help in the basics. I have an Edge Pro and use it for kitchen knives. I modified it buy installing some rare earth magnets to hold the knife flat to the platform. I just bought an Angle Cube digital level to help me with the grinding angle. I'm practicing on some beater knives but so far haven't gotten them as sharp as I'd like. I've started with a 200 or 400 grit stone but am having trouble establishing and feeling a burr so when I know when to start working the other side. How do I know when I have a burr, and what's the best way to feel it.

Appreciate any help.

What knives are you doing and what is your sharpening angle? Sounds like you are not quite hitting the edge.

Working on a couple of Chicago Cutlery knives. Set the angle to 20 degrees and marked the bevel with a sharpie. Took a couple of passes, and the sharpie was removed, so I thought I had the correct angle.

You can definitely raise a burr on them with a 200 grit stone. Are you using the original stones? The stock stones are actually a higher grit than there numbers would imply. The stock 400 compares to 1500 to 2000 grit stone. Recheck your angle. Use the sharpie again. Stay on a lower grit, be patient until you raise a burr. You'll get it.

What I do is just slide a finger from the spine across the edge (back of the knife toward the edge NOT along the edge!). A burr sort of stands up and you will feel that tiny nearly right angle of thin metal -- the other side is quite smooth.