Help first carbon knife please

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Alford78

Reaction score
I'm wanting my first carbon knife to be one in the Japanese style for paring fruits mainly.

I'm wanting carbon for ease of sharpening and really thin blade to skin kiwi and other fruits. I'm new to water stones but have been practicing on some stainless with fair results over this past week. I just can't seem to get a good burr is my thinking. I can't get any of my s35vn folders to push cut phone book easily but can get them to slice phone book paper once the cut gets started. I'm using two different 1k and 6k stones and have a 400 that I used on a couple old kitchen knives that had completely lost a bevel and managed to get it to cut food but not phone book paper lol. Will practice on its super hard stainless some more for sure.

So, with all that in mind please help me choose my first reactive knife.

Price range under $200 would be good but could spend more if was worth it but would rather not go over $300 since I will be sharpening this knife in my early stages of learning.

Blade length under 6" for sure. Wooden wa handle preferred. Easy to sharpen. Thin as possible but not super bendy (my Kono HD2 is very thin and something similar would be fine but even thinner the better since will be half the length).

Thanks for your time
Alex

I would suggest a Tanaka blue steel damascus...cost is very low so as you develop your skillset you won't mind the mess you make of the knife. That and it will be a great little cutter.

Just a thought.... Why do you specifically want a carbon knife to cut fruit with? Carbon reacts with a lot of fruit due to the high acidity. The acid can also dull your edge.
My entire kit is carbon except for my petty which I trim alot of fruit with.
Just my 2 cents.