Howdy

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kailex

Reaction score
I'm a pro cook from Texas. I'm working in a restaurant that has way less staff, structure, and business than my previous job. I used to be a manager and trainer for both front of house and back of house stuff and had to deal with money and orders and whatnot. Nowadays I just come into work, set up my station, and basically do whatever the hell I want. I fight off the boredom by cutting stuff. I use a Konosuke HD2 240mm gyuto for everything. I'm here to get recommendations on new knives to try. There's really nothing wrong with my knife but I guess I'm a little addicted to looking at information about knives. Just for fun, here's the questionnaire, since I'm not allowed to post on the other forum yet.

KNIFE TYPE

I'm looking for a k-tip or sabatier style gyuto that's 240mm+.

I'm left-handed.

I prefer octagonal wa handles. Western handles are alright too. Buffalo horn is a deal-breaker for me. I also dislike right-handed d-shaped handles.

I religiously wipe off my knives after using them, but still would prefer a powdered stainless or semi-stainless for piece of mind.

$400 is where I'd start drawing the line for how much I'm willing to spend.

KNIFE USE

This knife is going to be used in a pro environment as well as at home.

The knife will only be used on produce. Slicing, dicing, mincing, decorative work.

I currently use a Konosuke HD2 240mm gyuto

I'm comfortable with a pinch grip and a finger point grip.

I use push-cuts, which often have to be guillotine and glide cuts with my Konosuke. Second would be pull cuts/slicing. Last would be rocking just to mix it up. I never chop.