Kia ora from NZ

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a home cook in Wellington New Zealand. I've lurked a lot, this is a great site and quite the enabler. I've picked up heaps of useful info here, as evidenced by:

1. I don't own any 210mm gyuto (but hope to own a 225 someday of course)

2. I put a Denka notch in my 195mm carbon Misono

3. For the rare knife that is a 'keeper' I will put a burnt chestnut handle on it. This is like a wedding ring for knives.

I should also mention that my toastie (grilled cheese sandwich) game is seriously improved thanks to combining various techniques in the "Greatest Cheese Toastie in the World" thread. If you haven't checked it out, check it out.

The knives I'm using the most are:
Yoshikane 240 SKD nashiji gyuto
S Tanaka 240 blue 2 nashiji gyuto
Aforementioned Misono 195 Swedish carbon gyuto
An old western carbon slicer (was probably a chefs knife at one time but now shaped more like a sujihiki; probably pre-WWII, stiff, cool, about 230mm; could get retired as I have a Mazaki 270 suji on the way)
Toyama 180 stainless clad nakiri
Munetoshi kurouchi petty 165 (but just ordered a Munetoshi butcher which could replace this, as I mainly use it for carving things like whole roast chickens, ribs, etc.)
Wusthof Classic 165 santoku (this is my cheese knife, so I use it daily)
Kaeru kasumi stainless/SLD petty 150mm
And of course some Victorinox fibrox

Sharpening mainly on Naniwa Gouken Arata 800 and Chosera 3000.

Glad to be here!

Last edited:
Yumalundi (Ngunnawal, welcome) @Beerzebub!

Nice to see more antipodeans on the forum. I am from across the drink in Oz. Hilarious name! Any beers you are keen on at the moment?