Seasoning problems on my new carbon steel pan

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thisisputt

Reaction score
I just got a Matfer Bourgeat cs pan. I love it. The only thing is I'm genuinely worried about the seasoning because it doesn't seem as 'tough' as I expected it to be, I noticed some black or carbonized things on the pan so I tried to scratch it and the black stuff came off and that's the point I got really worried. Should I have not done that? Or is the problem with my choice of oil (it's canola by the way). I'm really new to seasoning pans.

Carbon steel pans don't hold their seasoning as well as cast iron. Just keep using it and don't sweat dings on the seasoned surface.

I just got a Matfer Bourgeat cs pan. I love it. The only thing is I'm genuinely worried about the seasoning because it doesn't seem as 'tough' as I expected it to be, I noticed some black or carbonized things on the pan so I tried to scratch it and the black stuff came off and that's the point I got really worried. Should I have not done that? Or is the problem with my choice of oil (it's canola by the way). I'm really new to seasoning pans.

It's natural for the color of the pan to change; however, you shouldn't be able to scrape off black bits unless your heating the pan to crazy temperatures. Are you sure the black stuff is not left-over burnt food? I sometimes will notice black bits when I heat up my carbon wok for cooking--but it's easily removed.

There's more than a couple threads here on seasoning carbon pans. (I can't do links from fon) Vollrath has a good utuber on subject, works for me on de Buyer, cast iron and paella pans.

Check out the ATK seasoning video:
[video=youtube_share;-suTmUX4Vbk]http://youtu.be/-suTmUX4Vbk[/video]
The one ATK recommendation that most won't challenge :groucho: