What *else* are you "into?" Cars? Guitars? Watches? Audio? Whatever?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Avincent52

Reaction score
I'm relatively new to Japanese knives, but when I posted a general query about sharpening on Facebook earlier this year, I realized a bunch of my friends are knife nerds too.
While I have "friends friends" most of my online friends are people who share my affinity for one or more of my interests.

Guitars Vintage Martins and Gibson acoustics and high-end boutiques. Also vintage Fenders, old amps and boutique pedals. I'm super lucky to call many amazing luthiers my friends.
Cars I lust after Italian but I actually bought a Porsche 997 because I actually drive it and don't wrench myself.
When I had to haul kids and a dog around I had a topaz blue E46 BMW 325iT RWD wagon with a 5 speed and the ZSP sports package and various M3 and ZHP parts. Most versatile car ever. Total unicorn.
Watches Again vintage chronos, especially racing/tech inspired things like old Heuers and Omega Speedmaster moon watches.
Audio My first thing until I realized that with these other hobbies you could re-sell what you bought as you upgraded without losing tons of money. I've still got an older high-end stereo system (Dunlavy, VAC, Audible, Linn) and some nice headphones (Audeze, Grado) I used to write for Stereophile and other mags.
Music The guitar and audio thing naturally connects to music, and I have wildly eclectic taste. Any given playlist could run from Joe Henry to Bill Frisell to Taylor Swift to Etta Baker to the Dead Kennedys to Bill Evans to Bill Monroe to Richard and Linda Thompson to....