First post, first real Japanese knife recommendations

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

colfishnski

Reaction score
I'm a noob. Been studying this site for a week and am a bit overwhelmed. I stepped up to some Shun classics about a year ago from 25 year old Germans. A new world and new techiques. Now, like my typical obsessions, I'd like to jump in and see if there's something really worthy of such time and attention for me, such as this whole new world of true handmade J knives. I'm patient, willing to learn, and am an avid home cook. I cook mostly a meat and veggie diet, with just a little fruit.

I'm looking for a decent quality entry point. I'm willing to learn sharpening.

WHERE
USA

KNIFE TYPE
What type of knife are you interested in (e.g., chef’s knife, slicer, boning knife, utility knife, bread knife, paring knife, cleaver)? Larger Gyotu or Kiritsuki. Maybe a nikiri.

Are you right or left handed?
Right

Are you interested in a Western handle (e.g., classic Wusthof handle) or Japanese handle?
japanese

What length of knife (blade) are you interested in (in inches or millimeters)?
240 or so, kind of a big ass knife

Do you require a stainless knife? (Yes or no)
No

What is your absolute maximum budget for your knife?
First J knife, under 150 if possible, to see if it's a thing for me.

KNIFE USE
Do you primarily intend to use this knife at home or a professional environment? Home

What are the main tasks you primarily intend to use the knife for (e.g., slicing vegetables, chopping vegetables, mincing vegetables, slicing meats, cutting down poultry, breaking poultry bones, filleting fish, trimming meats, etc.)? (Please identify as many tasks as you would like.) Lots of veggies and boneless meats, lots of stir fry. Will not use for heavier tasks. Lots of onion, garlic, peppers, bok choy, greens, etc.