Food safety practices at home?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bookgeek97

Reaction score
Question (especially for those who work in a commercial kitchen)-- At home, how stringent are you about cross contamination with meat? Here are two common situations I'm curious about:

1) Say your hands contact raw meat, do you clean/wipe them before using another item in the kitchen? e.g., handling raw chicken and then needing to use a peppermill. (or do you go so far to prep _everything_ you need prior so this is moot?)

2) Let's say you do use a rag to dry/wipe your hands after handling raw meat, do you then change rags to avoid subsequent cross contamination? (e.g., would you use that same rag to then wipe other surfaces, your knife/etc.)

Would love to hear your thoughts!

I am a lowly home cook, and probably one who is more careful than most.

If I handle raw protein, I then wash, not wipe my hands. If I use tongs on the raw protein, those are designated to raw protein and will be cleaned afterwards.

I have eaten several times my body weight in raw cookie dough and similar batters, never been sick. I still try to limit that cross contamination.

I’m a home cook. I’m also a hand washing fool. I would hate to make my someone I care about sick.

In that situation, I would wash my hands w soap and water. Dry with a clean paper towel and toss it.

I practice pretty much the same stuff at home as I do in pro kitchen. Except I don't do the stupid sh!t at home.