hello from Hong Kong

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

insomniac

Reaction score
hi all
Just wanted to introduce myself... I'm an avid home cook currently living in Hong Kong.

I have historically always made 2-3 trips to Japan a year... and over the past 3 years I've noticed I've stopped the skiing and sightseeing and have been increasingly organizing my trips around buying kitchen knives/ceramics and going to restaurants... so this year I have decided to recognize the knives as a formal obsession.

nice to meet you all and I look forward to learning a lot here!

thanks guys.

well if you make the trip out to CCK, you're on Shanghai Street, which is sort of the kitchen town of the city. That area actually probably covers the better part of knife shops in Hong Kong assuming you're not looking for department store style shopping. Most of the shops in that area do stock various Japanese and Western knife brands if you have the time to peruse. Its a bit like Tokyo's Kappabashi in that many of the shops sell more than just knives, so you do have to walk around a bit to find wares. Even CCK sells everything.. though their front is a knife display. There is one other store not far from CCK which I've forgotten the name of which stocks a wide selection of Japanese product, but its nothing really esoteric (mostly Masamoto Sohonten and Aritsugu product).

for local product, chinese choppers are the most popular... the other local brand you could consider seeking is Ho Chi King Lee, one of the last surviving cleaver-smiths in HK next to CCK. but i don't think they have their own shop. one shop that may be of interest, SCW Cutlery (sells several local brand), more conveniently located than Shanghai Street which you could squeeze in while remaining on HK island

SCW Cutlery & Hardware (HK) Ltd
G/F 361 Hennessy Road, Wanchai